GPA & Fortune 100 Correlation

Hi,

I'm a recent graduate from a target school and have been wondering how my GPA will affect my career.

My goal is to start with a FP&A position and eventually move up to a Corporate Strategy role.

My cum GPA is 3.6, and my major GPA is 3.3. Do I have a chance for Fortune 100 companies?

Thank you in advance.

Most Helpful

I was at an F200 A&D company in an FLDP that is sometimes mentioned on this forum as one of the better ones. Graduated with a 3.46. I got to participate in interviewing FLDPs that came after me, and I'd say the average GPA we saw was around 3.3-3.5. I don't think anyone cared about GPA as long as it was above 3.3.

You also say you wonder how your GPA will effect your career. The only time you should keep GPA on your resume is in your first 3ish years out of college, which is likely just one set of interviews. After that, it does not matter at all, except for getting into MBA programs.. which favor work experience anyway.

I challenge the fundamental assumption that you seem to be making- that the higher on the F500 list, the better. I look at the F100 list and see a few companies I've never even heard of (Tech Data, StoneX group, Plains GP holdings). Huge companies, but not a big brand presence unless you are in the area or in the industry I assume. At the same time you have Dean Foods, GameStop, and Dillards in the 400 range but everyone knows about those companies. All else equal, the higher on the list the better, but there is plenty to think about: office location (corporate office vs small satellite), industry (Do you want to be in Energy? or CPG?), brand recognition (Coke is better known than Mckesson, but is smaller), and most importantly: THE JOB. I'd take global FP&A at a F499 company over program finance/cost accounting at Boeing.