Just got a 730 on the GMAT, AMA

jonstuart's picture

Took the GMAT on Friday and scored a 730. 49 QUANT, 40 VERBAL. For those of you who are taking it or are just curious about something and have a question, maybe I can help. Just joined the site and figured I'd give this a shot.

Comments (23)

Dec 14, 2015

How much time did you put in?

Dec 14, 2015

What materials did you use?

Dec 14, 2015

I'm studying for the GRE and I crammed all the words and went through all the math but how do I prepare for Critical reading/reading comprehension & math? do I just churn exercises and time myself at the same time or what? I'm currently using the official GRE guide and Manhattan.

I know the author gave the GMAT but the only difference is that the GMAT is slightly more difficult on the math side.

Dec 14, 2015

not to hijack the OPs thread but http://www.gmatquantum.com/ was by far the best resource I used for Quant. Even if you don't want to pay for the course (which is well worth it), the free video answers to all the OG questions are invaluable.

On the verbal side, a lot of your success is going to come down to focus. Verbal really isn't that hard, but you have to by hyper focused and not miss any details. Just practice with official questions and learn the patterns. For reading comp, a tricked that helped me was to pretend you are really excited about whatever topic the post is on. If you go in thinking, "this topic is boring as hell", it will be hard to retain the information.

Dec 21, 2015

Echo GMAT quantum x1000

Dec 14, 2015

Congratulations

Best Response
Dec 14, 2015

Why such a low score?

Dec 14, 2015

ikr - it's only 95 percentile

Dec 14, 2015

This thread is hysterical

Dec 14, 2015

Why are you doing an ama with just a 730?

Dec 15, 2015

... is Jon Stuart your real name?

Dec 15, 2015

im stuck on 680 +/- 10 on manhattan CATs can't get to the 700 mark i always score 37+ on verbal but my quant is volatile sometimes 42 sometimes 49 don't understand why?