Should I retake the GMAT? 710 (41Q 47V 6AWA)

As title states. I am trying to get in to H/S/W with UT McCombs as a safety school (I live in Austin). Sloan also a choice. I have 14 years work experience and can 100% attribute my poor Q score to the fact I haven't had a real math class in 16 years.

I think if I applied myself and retook, I could get 42-44 on Q but likely not better than that. I also risk the V coming down, on practice tests my range for V was 39-51 (dont ask me how I scored perfect on V in practice but I did!).

I got a 49 Q 38 V with the same 710 percentile. I would think that applying to H/S/W would require a higher Q score but I’m no expert. overall I was happy with my 710 and I don’t want to retake the test, but I also wasn’t shooting for H/S/W MBA. when applying for grad school, your entire application package matters. if you are relying on a superb GMAT to offset some lacking part of your app package then you might consider retaking. overall I think 710 is pretty good, tho. I am not retaking mine

Successful career in tech followed by F100 marketing consulting in pharmaceuticals followed by CTO roles at 2 successful startups (10-20MM valuation, 6-7 figure revenue). I am a career switcher looking to go to the other side of the table, PE/VC or something similar. Maybe IB, not sure if I will like it. Thanks for being interested.

I (think) I have a great essay, and I know I have good references. My application is strong, but I would be willing to go through GMAT hell again if its important. Don't want my app thrown out because I've got Q41.

I would try posting to the forum below, it looks like an actual consultant may answer your questions. The post is a bit outdated though so not sure.

Even if a consultant doesn’t answer you there, I still think it would be a good idea for you to speak to one. Just because it seems like you would be a very unique applicant.

https://www.wallstreetoasis.com/forums/get-an-edge-on-the-competition-a…

Most Helpful