To those who failed to convert for 2021 SA.....

Hey, sorry to those who I addressed it to, I know it must be difficult. I am currently a sophomore looking to recruit for SA 2022. I go to a semi target and have a very good resume (regional IB and PE internships). I was wondering where did you go wrong for SA 2021 and do you have any tips? What are your back up plans?

As someone who failed a lot, I would say really try to make solid connections during networking and then continue following up. I thought I was able to make decent connections but then failed to get first round interviews, so I would have kept updating those connections and staying in touch if I could do it again. 

Array

This 100%.

I went though ~10 superdays to land 2 offers, just accepted IBD at GS/MS/JPM about a month ago. I was recruiting from January to September. I have many friends that were more prepared than me from the start, had better internships, had better grades, better test scores even, and they didn't land anything. Everyone started talking about backup plans in August but I kept my head down and kept recruiting.

Since then, I've gotten 4 invitations to first rounds that I've had to turn down because I already accepted my offer. You should never create a backup plan if it's feasible that you'll land something (3.5+ GPA in a relevant major at a school that people have at least heard of). If you just keep grinding + improving and you trust the process, then you'll get something eventually. 

It should also be mentioned that no other year will ever be like this one for recruiting. Downturns are rough but typically that means banks decrease headcount; this year it meant they decreased headcount significantly, spaced out recruiting, and nobody knew what they could count on. Stay optimistic for next year.