UCLA for IB: 2021

Hi everyone! 

I'm a current UCLA student and have seen decent amount of posts on this forum recently asking about IB / Consulting / Biz Econ major in UCLA and comparing the program to other schools. There have been a whole lot of other posts on WSO which address this but wanted to start a new discussion for any incoming freshmen to have questions addressed. Unfortunately, I can't give away my background (as it will be easy to find out who I am), but happy to answer any general questions that one might have. 

WSO Elite Modeling Package

• 6 courses to mastery: Excel, Financial Statement, LBO, M&A, Valuation and DCF
  • Elite instructors from top BB investment banks and private equity megafunds
  • Includes Company DB + Video Library Access (1 year)

Comments (7)

• Analyst 1 in IB-M&A
Apr 7, 2021 - 1:10pm

I'm also a UCLA student going into banking, we probably know each other. My take on recruiting from UCLA is that if you enter freshman year aiming to do banking and have enough social aptitude you'll be fine. There's honestly not a lot of competition here and if you do the necessary things (GPA, internships, extracurriculars) and are able to hold a conversation with bankers I can't imagine you won't get any offers.

• Intern in HF - Other
Apr 7, 2021 - 7:43pm

This is so true, you just need to know that you want to do banking early on, recruit into a few clubs and you'll have people to help you out. If you're diligent during your freshman year, you can make it without a lot of difficulty!

• Analyst 2 in IB - Ind
Apr 7, 2021 - 10:18pm