UCLA for IB: 2021

Hi everyone! 

I'm a current UCLA student and have seen decent amount of posts on this forum recently asking about IB / Consulting / Biz Econ major in UCLA and comparing the program to other schools. There have been a whole lot of other posts on WSO which address this but wanted to start a new discussion for any incoming freshmen to have questions addressed. Unfortunately, I can't give away my background (as it will be easy to find out who I am), but happy to answer any general questions that one might have. 

I'm also a UCLA student going into banking, we probably know each other. My take on recruiting from UCLA is that if you enter freshman year aiming to do banking and have enough social aptitude you'll be fine. There's honestly not a lot of competition here and if you do the necessary things (GPA, internships, extracurriculars) and are able to hold a conversation with bankers I can't imagine you won't get any offers.

I'm a UCLA alum who didn't know about IB until I was a junior. Agree that if you aim to get into banking as a freshman or even as a sophomore then there's a good chance you'll be able to land something. In my opinion, the lack of finance classes makes it hard for underclassmen to realize that IB might be a field they're interested in. I was a business econ major and I remember professors talk a lot about big 4 accounting jobs, but I don't remember any talk about finance careers.

Thanks for doing this. I'm particularly interested in tech IB and looking at LinkedIn there seem to be alums in all the top groups I hear about - GS, Qatalyst, Morgan Stanley, etc. Any specific advice for breaking into tech banking? And also what differentiates the students that get those top places from others? Anything to do early on?