Summer 2020 Advice

Hello fellow monkeys,

Need some advice. I am an international student with a 3.8+ GPA at a target (think HYPSM). Half assed my way through recruiting (poor networking and interview prep) but somehow managed to land three offers. One is an IB SA offfer at a BB in HK/SG (BAML/Citi/DB/CS), an MBB offer at a regional office in the US, and a SA offer at a mid-tier wealth-management boutique based in NY. I want to do IB FT and, specifically, in NY. My concerns are: i) working in the US is tougher since I am an international student and, hence, the US offers make more sense ii) working at a BB might be the best in terms of actual experience but its in SG iii) MBB offer is probably the best in terms of brand recognition but its consulting and at a regional office.

Out of the three, which one would position me for FT IB recruiting in NY the best?

Most Helpful

I would go MBB for sure. U can recruit IB FT from there and PE (after 2-3 years) from there and the brand name beats all your other offers. Would def not do the wealth mgmt boutique and if your goal is staying in the US, there's no point interning abroad your junior summer.

I am targeting BB and EB firms for I Banking and would get very good deal exposure at my summer stint. I think it is also worth mentioning that the MBB stint is at a smaller regional office (it's definitely a less prominent office than HK/SG) and I don't see myself gain a lot of skills relevant to finance.

Would that not position me better for IB FT in NY considering that I would have more solid finance experience and technical skills. I am leaning a little towards the BB offer in Asia because of the finance experience, but my top priority is to work in NY post-grad. Do you think the a BB experience in Asia would hurt my chances to recruit FT in NY? Could it help and if so how much more/less than the MBB experience?