"IRR" for a total loss investment... 0% or -100%?

Hi All,

Am having a semi interesting debate with a consultant pitching us a PE firm (we are a fund to funds).

To make a long story short... there are 2 investments in the fund that are TOTAL losses ( 0 recovery).... yes I know terrible!

However, the consultant is trying to convince me that the irr on those investments should be 0%. However, I am leaning towards -100%. 0% to me would be closer to break even, while -100% is truthfully what this was... but that is just logic?

I am new to the industry and this consultant is pretty seasoned. So. I dont look like a total idiot disagreeing with him... what do you all think?

Obviously 0 vs. -100% results in pretty different average performance and would affect manager quartile rankings.

All the examples I found online dont reference total losses.... so I am hoping to harness the power of crowds by chatting with you all.

Many thanks in advance.

O

Thanks for the response. The issue is that since the signs never change its erroring so I can't use that as a test. The below is a quickie example with dates and numbers changed of course.

-1000 1/1/2012 -50 1/1/2013 -5 1/1/2014 -15 1/1/2015

#NUM!

Exactly! that is what I was thinking .. you cant throw it in excel since the cashflows never turn positive and it just errors. I told the consultant about the -100% by the way and he starched his head and ended up agreeing! Whew... nice to know Im not that big of a dumbass. Thank you for your response.

I haven't touched valuation in years, but is there any element of discounting / adjusting for eg base interest rates? 

Ie investment held for 5 years exits at entry value, no cash flow, surely if the alternative was to hold in government bonds at eg 1% then you use that to adjust IRR to be negative? 

edit - I believe I might be talking about discount rate, so eg assuming 3%, then 100m entry, 100m nominal exit, discounted would be net negative so negative IRR