Given Generative AI risks, does it makes sense to pay $300k for a top UG / $200-250k for a top MBA anymore?

Genuine question. I've already graduated and my parents shelled out $300k all-in total cost for me to go to a T20 UG (very fortunate to carry no debt) but I certainly will not go to business school, even for Harvard. Given inflation since then the cost is all in cost (tuition, room & board, spending money) is about $400k.

My question to folks who have graduated from top UGs / MBA programs, if you had to do it all over again but start this program this year (2024-2028) for UG or Business School (2024-2026) would you pay for it?

My sense very, very strongly is that it isn't worth it. I'm actually a little sad here that my parents spent such a stupid sum of money on my college education, with the expectation that it would pay off for decades. I did end up getting a great 6-figure job out of school (I'll just say I graduated in 2nd half of 2010s) but now I really wonder if I'll be able to actually have at least a 30yr career. If I could, it would completely justify the $300k investment. If I can't, then might as well have gone to a lower tier school where maybe the total cost would've been under $100k at most.

This is a tough choice for those thinking of MBA and a brutal choice for those thinking UG (you haven't even started earning and you don't have the ability to generate money in 6 figure range just yet most likely. How do you all shake out on this?

Most Helpful

IMO I think AI justifies shelling the money for a good degree.