Goodbye JC100021, Hello Military_MBA_Banker

Hello WSO Members,

I recently changed my WSO handle from @JC100021" to this. You might also notice I went from Gorilla to King Kong & Certified User overnight. Below is an explanation why, but I want to first state that my aim now is to help people looking to change careers through an MBA, especially military guys (though all walks of life welcome).

Long story short, I have been on WSO since early 2007, when it was "ibankingoasis.com." I raked up about 600 bananas, and then after feeling I may have lost my anonymity, made a completely random name "@JC100021" to start fresh. My initials aren't JC, I literally hit the keyboard with my eyes closed and that is what came out.

When I first started using this site, I was a brand new officer in the military with no idea what banking or PE was. I found the site by Googling "how to get into investment banking"

I asked the site moderator to allow me to take my credits & bananas from my old account, and add them to my new account, and for Certified User status because I felt I could contribute from my past experiences.

My story:

I grew up in NYC and came from a family of civil servants with no idea about finance or Wall Street. I thought my friend going to Wharton undergrad to study business was a sucker because being an entrepreneur was so risky (because obviously, business means starting your own business). I thought I was the shit for getting into Rose-Hulman and RPI for engineering, because that is where the money was (shows how little I knew in High School).

So I go to a U.S. Service Academy, get my commission as an officer in the military, and earn a degree in engineering.