Sophomore Summer Decision, VC vs 100-500 MM Boutique IB

Hi y'all,

First and foremost, I am blessed to be in this position, however, this is still a decision that I am still wrestling with. I am a Sophomore at a Semi-Target. Currently, I am interning at a small boutique IB this spring. While it is definitely a great learning experience; I am getting to see deals, work on models, and sitting in with seller-buyer meetings, I believe I can leverage this internship to find a larger boutique bank(100 - 500MM) that would be more relevant for BB/EB internships next summer. 

I was offered a position to intern at a nearby VC firm that was founded just recently, and am currently debating whether it would be more worthwhile to continue cold-emailing nearby boutique investment banks or to accept this offer. At this VC, I believe I will have more responsibility in terms of evaluating companies and talking to company owners. However, it would probably not look like the standard Sophomore summer Fortune 500/boutique IB -> Junior summer BB/EB route.

I am blessed to say that because of my current internship, I get to say that I have industry experience in IB already and this really gives me flexibility for the summer. I guess my main question is... should I take this offer? stay at my current firm? or continue to search for a larger boutique firm?

Thank you all.

Most Helpful