Career Advice, 2015 Grad

Hey guys,

I'm looking for some career advice. I graduated in 2015 with a BA Economics and a minor in Finance. After graduating, I continued working for a company I interned with for 2 years (part time while in school). 3 months into that I transitioned into real estate working as an analyst in their Asset Management division. The culture there sucked, I hated it, so I left a few months shy of a year. I traveled for a few months and now I'm back home and interviewing as a financial analyst for firms in various industries. While I traveling I realized that what I really want to do is equity asset management. That's when I formulated this "plan." I have a couple of years to execute this game plan, but I would like some feedback and a general sense of how people would look at this.

Basically, I want to know if I can land interviews by passing Level 1 & 2 of the CFA® and take the WallStreetPrep Modeling boot camp. I know doing these two won't land me a job, but all I'm hoping for is to stand out and get a call back and/or an interview. I've looked at the curriculum, talked to my network here in LA and NY, and have heard repeatedly that the designation is crucial. As for the curriculum, I'm very interested in what it has to offer from a knowledge standpoint, and I want to take the boot camp to learn the modeling skill set and also because I have no background in financial modeling. All in all, my plan would cost around $4500, but spread over 1.5-2 years, I can afford it. I also consider an investment for the long run.

Also, I just turned 24 and I consider myself at the early stages of my career. However, I feel old given that I would not have this plan completed until I am a few months shy of my 26th.

Any feedback on this plan and whether or not I shall reap any benefit in a couple of years?

Best,

J

Best Response