CPA or GMAT? 5 Year MAC Program Grad- Incoming F100 FLDP with Corp Dev Aspirations or MBA -> IBD

Hi Monkeys,

A little about me. I graduated from a top 20 target in Econ but didn't get the job I wanted out of undergrad, decided to do a masters of accounting degree at a similar school and now will work at a F100 FLDP. As stated above my goals are to break into corp dev internally then possibly an MBA -> IBD.

Given my situation is it worth it to do the CPA? I only have about 2.5 months before I start work. If I don't do the CPA I planned on traveling/relaxing and getting >=720 on the GMAT. Worst case scenario and I don't get into Corp Dev I end up in corporate finance, does the CPA matter there? Would I be held behind if I didn't do the CPA.

Will having a Master of Accounting degree without a CPA look strange? Obviously it a different situation since I opted for a FDLP vs Big 4 so unsure on how to determine the CPA's value.

Thoughts?

I'm assuming you bumped this because you're in a similar situation. The biggest question I would have for the OP is if they would be working under other licensed CPAs, in order to even qualify for licensing. If so, then maybe.

At the end of the day, while the CPA affords you certain abilities - very few of which are applicable to finance -, it's more of a signaling device than anything else. It signals that you have the discipline and capacity to sit down and teach yourself a somewhat robust curriculum, and retain enough of it to pass a series of tests that are graded on an arbitrary curve.

That said, it's not all that applicable to finance, but the material you learn will certainly help you in your professional career. It is a significant time commitment, and completing it while working full time does suck.

While people in the accounting world may look at you cross if you went through a MACC program and didn't get a head start on the CPA program, if you don't aim to be an accountant, it's not that great of use to you.