IBD SA 2021 Background Check Question Urgent

So i recently received an an offer from a BB (think BAML), but a few weeks ago I got into a bit of a mishap regarding the law.

I am from the South where there are very strict laws, and so basically I was charged with operating a continued criminal enterprise. do u think this will show on IBD background checks, because it has nothing to do with securities fraud or nothing. I am facing 1-5 years if convicted, but have a good legal team, and will be able to participate in SA 2021 even if i spend a few months behind bars.

Thanks guys, lmk if any of yall have been in a similar predicamicant.

Comments (27)

• Summer Associate in IB - Gen
Aug 13, 2020 - 2:31pm

Actually my friend was convicted of vehicular manslaughter and was able to continue with his SA gig. Just let HR know before and you should be good to go.

Aug 13, 2020 - 11:47pm

Hmmm, I'm no expert, but I don't think most investment banks are too keen on hiring convicted felons.

Array

Aug 14, 2020 - 12:41am

Yeah, I think you're right. It seems like CCE is a federal statute, not a state one. I don't think this is a matter of his state having "strict laws" lmao.

Array

Funniest
Aug 14, 2020 - 12:52am

Holy shit, that's one hell of an EC

To live is to suffer, to survive is to find some meaning in the suffering.

• Trader in IB - Cov
Aug 14, 2020 - 10:24am

Hey, OP here. I just wanted to say that the charges will probably be lowered from CCE to something else. Again, I sell really expensive things and I have a good lawyer, but do you think these charges are relevant to IB given that it has nothing to do with securities or fraud?

Btw house arrest sucks dick

Aug 14, 2020 - 10:31am