Is it worth applying to SA 2020?

Title. I'm a rising sophomore at a semi-target (think Nova placement-wise), who hasn't even started networking or learning technicals yet. I also lack relevant internships, this summer I'm interning for my city in their "Finance" department, but it's more accounting and reconciliation. I've heard that only diversity (I am diverse, but the wrong skin color) gets soph SA. On the other hand, I've heard that it's good to get experience doing Hirevue and work on creating a good story for interviews, etc. So is it a waste of time, or should I just apply so I can go through the process as a trial run before junior summer?

Most Helpful

You should start networking now, even if it's for SA 2021. Even if you reach out now and don't connect again for 3 months, it's better to develop your network than be frantic once SA 2021 starts up.

Depending on your city, see if there are any boutique IBs that would let you intern during the school year. That will help you both for sophomore and junior years. Technicals can be learned in ~2 weeks in a crunch... but your job is probably 9-5 so why wait. Start practicing now, focus on the application (WHY does this happen/how does X change flow through financial statements rather than just memorizing answer)

I always think it is good practice to apply now and become familiar with the Hirevues. They are similar year to year and it takes a while to get comfortable with talking to yourself on video. I wouldn't count on BB jobs for your sophomore year, but the type of jobs you'd get as a sophomore are probably not hiring until the fall. The more you can do now of networking/technicals practice/mock and video interview practice, the better you will be for junior recruiting.

Also editing to add, you didn't mention your GPA but from a semi target that is the most important factor.

Array