$100K Salary A Year Lifestyle

or 200k? or 50k?..Im currently a student and im hoping somebody can bridge the gap on what the expectation vs. reality was like once they actually started making that comp they fantasized about in school. was it as good as you expected? Is your current role Bottles and Models or 401k's and Honda Accords?

List out..

Overall Mindset towards money:

What is it like living on a $100,000 salary in New York?

Considering that the average bulge bracket starting salary is $85,000 + Bonus - it is understandable that users want to understand how far $100,000 will get you - especially in big cities. Our users commented below. Please note that the OP and many of the comments were made in 2013 and therefore the tax assumptions may be somewhat out of date.

{quote "Ricqles"]100k after tax is ~ 80k. Rent will take up ~ 20k / year if you are in NYC so you are left with 60K. Monthly entertainment expense of 1k or so on entertainment and another 500 on food (assuming you don't go to fancy restaurants and you stay late for dinners) will get you to 40K. That's the most you will get out of your 100k assuming you are frugal

Let's hope you don't have any student loans or other obligations. I know several 1st year analysts who live on credit cards before their bonus hit. (Posted 5/28/2013)[/quote]

F430 - Sales and Trading Analyst:
Hate to burst your bubble, but if you live in NYC at $100k then you'll be paying around $43K in taxes between federal, state, city, social security, and Medicare. So your take-home per month is around 4750 in a very expensive city. Your paycheck will probably be a little more than that though because of state tax deductions.

Living in California / West Coast on $100 K

freeloader - Private Equity Associate:
I'll chip in the SF/Cali point of view. 100K is definitely not a lot, though enough to be comfortable.

Post-tax income: At 100K, you'll net 67-70K after taxes (you should expect a 30-33% effective tax rate)