OIL CORRELATIONS & GLOBAL SELL OFF 2016??

First post on this forums, I am a finance student.

Regardless, the current global sell off is continueing amid fears in china and lowering oil prices causing speculation.

What I don't understand is, the lowering of oil prices should benefit many of the companies in the s&p 500, especially because travel costs and the lot will be lower come the 1st Q. Also the dollar is strengthening, so this would mean higher purchasing power for companies such as apple, walmart.

Why then is this global sell off continueing, I have an account with my broker with funds x > 10k euros. I have positions in APPL, WMT. I am long in these positions, but they keep falling. I am not having worries because in the long run the stocks will rise. However my question is:

"Why is the stocks continueing to fall for exp APPL, if their outlook should be better (stronger dollar, lower oil prices)" - Why the global sell off and increase in supply for these large bluechip stocks?

I wish I had waited longer to jump in at a lower position (lower P/E) but I have am disappointed.

Can someone explain please.

Best Response

My suggestion would be to sell your positions and sit on cash. Why? because you clearly don't understand investing. Perhaps because you are still a student. But right now, you shouldn't be in the game yet.