Lost and Confused 2024 Graduate

Had an internship at JPM last summer and did not get a return offer (team did not have capacity to bring me on). I have a great recommendation letter from my MD, but am coming from a non-target with a pretty low GPA.

I understand it’s a numbers game and have spent so many hours trying to network, research, and do anything I can to generate leads for full time employment in IB or PE upon graduation. I have been tracking my applications in a spreadsheet and have tallied over 400 applications (even opening up to public finance and roles alike). The only traction I have received is for middle or back office positions.

Now that it is nearing the holiday season… are my chances of obtaining a role before year end gone? I haven’t been able to do anything Senior year at all and it has been pretty tough seeing all my friends enjoying our last few months together.

I graduated high school in May of 2020, so my last graduation season got taken away along with the events leading up to it. I want to do anything I can to prevent that from happening again and a vital element to assure I can enjoy my last few months of school is locking down an offer.

Any advice for someone in my position?
thanks in advance.

Hey OP, I've been in your exact shoes, more than once. Some things to keep in mind: it isn't over until it's over. You are crushing the numbers game. However, without knowing more about your application profile and interviewing skills, it's probably worth assessing where you might be able to improve. 400 applications is a lot to not get any traction with, even for a non-target profile. You also didn't mention networking or referrals, how is that going? Now is the time to build off-cycle relationships that can lead to referrals or first-rounds come Spring time.