feeling kinda sad, need advice, 2021 recruiting

Hey, I'm a sophomore at a semi-target. I have a 3.6 GPA and I come under a minority recruit I guess. I recently applied to 2021 IB internships, and I only got first rounds for 2 banks (I applied to a ton). It's so weird because the companies that want to interview me are ones that I didn't even network with & I networked with a lot of other firms that did not give me first rounds.

I don't know - It makes me feel like the only two I got were flukes, and I don't know how to proceed from here. I'm here thinking is IB even for me, maybe the people who said I won't make it are right? Sorry if this sounds dramatic, i'm just going through it right now. I was wondering if you had any advice or words of wisdom, and how I should proceed. I really want this. I've been working hard but I feel like I'm not making it far at all.

“Those who think they can and those who think they can’t are both usually right.” – Confucius

That's all I got for you on this one. It's going to come down to you and nobody else

:') on campus recruiting. we had like 15+ firms on there, i have one alternate (which idk what that means) and 2 first rounds. everyone on here has like superdays, and tons of first and second rounds already so feeling kind of defeated

Most Helpful

My advice:

1) stop comparing yourself to others, this never goes well. Focus on the value you bring, your accomplishments, the fact that you were able to secure interviews. I see this even in professionals with many years of experience “well Bob did X and I did Y, I think I should get paid more”, how about you just tell me about yourself? Comparisons leads you down the wrong mentality, and will never make you the best, either you are down because you perceive someone as better or you get lazy because no one around you is good, make yourself the best you.