What would you study with $10,000 a year?

Hello,

I am currently few months into a new job in GSE underwriting.
I just found out that as a part of the benefit package, I can get an educational assistance up to $10,000 a year.
I am a real estate newbie with huge passion, but I am not sure what to study or how to improve myself to stand out in this industry in the future.

I currently have three options in mind:
1) studying for GMAT
2) studying for certifications such as CAIA, CFA, CRI, etc.
3) taking online classes about real estate. (eCornell, UCLA extension, NYU program)

What would you do?
Please help out a fellow monkey shape his career.

Most Helpful

I wasn't specifically referring to books about real estate, but you should read some of those too.

If you aren't sure about your goals, which is totally fine, then I would double down on my advice. Read as many Great Books as you can. Books on business will probably be more valuable than real estate books. Even more importantly, you should hoover up as much knowledge as possible about a wide range of topics. The most interesting and successful people I know are all very well read in a variety of subjects like philosophy, ethics, business, science and tech, history, and psychology.

If you don't have a ton of career and life experience yet, I realize that this might sound like a distraction. But I can assure you that as you get older, you'll realize that the returns from this kind of learning compound very quickly. And looking back, reading widely and heavily will be the best investment you ever made in your life.

Repeating what @DCDigger mentioned above. Read everything you can and find a specific interest. While reading, research everything you don't understand. I mean everything. If its a term, a case study, or just a deal that went wrong. You'll learn a ton this way if you do it right, and it will prepare you to further your education once you've built a strong base, or so I've been told...