Will I pay back 300k in Columbia tuition?

I'm an international student looking to break into investment banking in the US who recently got admitted into Columbia with no aid at all. I ran my back-of-the-napkin math and if I do indeed break into bulge bracket and go through the normal salary progression, while eating ramen and cutting on alcohol - I'll probably be able to pay it back in 5 years. Is this right? Should I do this? Will I hate my life?

I also got admitted into a good non-target university in Minneapolis, MN for a full scholarship so I'm considering going there and making another (better) shot at Ivies next year aiming for full aid (since I got waitlised by 3 Ivies so I kinda have a chance next year). What should I do?

• been a long-time lurker here, this place is truly life-changing.

Are you interested in IB and in the lifestyle going with it ? if Yes, go for it / if No, don't.

Do not force yourself into a path which is not yours, life is not about chasing debt in a shitty daily routine hating your life so you might better aim for a great work/life balance, wife, kids and doggos. Cannot really answer for you but if you are certain that you are willing to work in MM/EB/BB, Columbia it is.

You do not have a guarantee of a job in IB, and as an international you will need sponsorship. All very uncertain. Also, your parents will need to sign for a loan that size-are they willing to guarantee repayment,?

Most Helpful

Don't take the debt.  You are not a US citizen.  You may have a very hard time getting an ib job.  So much of getting an ib job is "fit".  Do you get along with and know how to find common ground with American lacrosse players who grew up in Connecticut?  Are you confident you won't be seen as awkward or "not a fit"?

Have you ever lived in the US? Have you ever been friends with an American?

Not saying it's impossible but I see lots of international kids get dinged for just being too "fresh off the boat".