2019 Sophomore Internship

Sup Monkeys,

I am currently a Freshman at a non-target school but have a 4.0 GPA and a nice M&A internship at a Fortune 500 company lined up for this summer. Just starting to think about the process for internships after next year and was wondering if anyone has any advice for getting a sophomore internship at a bulge-bracket. I know most programs are diversity (I'm a white male) so was wondering if anyone knows of any specific programs to shoot for and what that process looks like. Since applications are so early, what should I be looking to do beforehand to best position myself? Let me know if you guys have any input. Appreciate it.

Region

Definitely an uphill battle. I tried for the same for this summer (currently a sophomore) and did not succeed. Very few places will consider sophomores at the BB level. I'd look at regional offices (SF, Houston, Chicago, etc.) as they may be more open to considering you. PM me if you want to hear more about the processes I went through.

Above is correct - I am diversity and even those are extremely limited spots. I would definitely apply everywhere just to get familiar with the process. I did about 10 real HireVues/some Korus/a few other behavioral things last summer, didn't get any of the jobs but having done it helped me this year (especially with timing being so surprisingly moved up). You're already in a good spot with GPA, internship, and starting so early. Beyond sophomore summer, would also look into the non-diversity freshman and sophomore insight days (GS has city camps, JP Launching Leaders, Barclays has a couple) as they look great on a resume, can help you out at that firm in the future, and answer the "why x firm" question for you in a memorable way.

Array