SA 2020: Stuck in a foreign country

Hey everyone. I was supposed to join a BB in NYC as an IB SA this summer, and my bank has recently announced that our program was moved online. I am an international student though and got stuck back in my home country (not the US), as my college didn't allow me to stay on campus due to the pandemic.
My country is currently under very strict quarantine, with literally no options to leave until at least June (though quarantine will likely be extended until September due to how bad it is here).
Is anybody else in a similar position? Would I still be able to legally complete my virtual internship while abroad?

I know at least 5 others, myself included in the same situation. We're hoping we can get back in to the states by early June.

I am glad I am not alone in this situation, but I am sorry to hear you guys are stuck as well. Did you/your acquaintances communicate with HR at all to ask what the contingency plans would be if the borders remain closed?

Asking because I've heard about an international student who had their offer rescinded by Google over the same situation (stuck in their home country with no option of flying back to the US to complete the virtual internship).

No, we haven't spoken to HR yet given how the situation could change in a months time. I assume the easiest path for HR would be to rescind internships to internationals.

What was Google's rationale for rescinding their internship so early? I assume they would have waited until closer to the start date before making such a decision.

Fulfill all your duties and finish your assignment. The time difference might be the only challenge, but I am assuming you can deal with this.

• Nobody knows when each of the countries will lift the travel/gov bans
  • On top of that, you will also need to find an airline that services the correct routes and has the flights
  • Depending on where you are traveling from you may end up with test procedures and/or quarantine