Stay in banking or take over my dad's $700K EBITDA company

My dad is an entrepreneur and is now tired of running his company.

I’m a first year IB Analyst and from what I’ve seen, I am not impressed with the career trajectory, overall wealth generation and job satisfaction of those above me (23-30 yrs old) that stay in IB. was a shock to me that some late 20 year olds in banking still live with roommates.

The company generates around $3.5MM rev and 700K EBITDA per year, and would be theoretically mine. Obviously he’d be operating heavily until I got a grasp and taking distributions annually to live but I would be making all strategic decisions. This is not a sexy company by any means, and would be classified under consumer/retail and possibly industrial services.

Despite this, I have a true passion for investing and the path I am now will align me well to join a distressed HF or distressed debt shop which has been a dream of mine for a long time.

Safe to say I’m in a bit of a pickle.

Maybe some older folks could chime in and speak some wisdom?

What are your opinions here?

This is real and I’m actually considering the option.

DISCLAIMER: I do not for one second take for granted the opportunity to be in IB and the salary you make as a college graduate. I understand I am in a privileged place.

Also. Selling the company is a non option in my opinion it would be stupid to sell a company with so much potential for organic growth.

apologize for the rant and do appreciate the life advice

@I3DCashStaffer clearly has never built his own business before. Growing a company from scratch to $700K EBITDA without access to a lot of outside capital is hard as hell. OP, props to your Dad for building something that can provide for him and his employees.