Too Early To Apply to GS SA 2019 as Incoming Freshman?

I've been lurking for a little while and I'm new to posting; I may be asking a stupid question, so please just MS me if I am -- although an explanation of why would be greatly appreciated.

I just wanted to check before I did anything stupid. I'm an incoming freshman at NYU Stern and was wondering if I can apply for the GS SA 2019 program -- obviously the absence of college experience and classes makes me a weak candidate even given that I'm far younger than the average SA, but I was hoping that high school stats (high GPA, 36, high-level leadership (in charge of around 3500 people) in a business extracurricular) might make a miracle possible, given that I'd have a year under my belt if I got accepted.

But obviously all of the above is obviously super unlikely, and GS probably doesn't give a rat's ass about my HS stats, but I wasn't sure so I wanted to ask. I was also thinking more about whether GS tracks applicants' interest and while that also seems unlikely, I figured it may be worth a shot if they do.

I'm just trying to do whatever I can to get a head start and some experience, both for "career advancement" but also because I just really enjoy this stuff and don't want to wait (I'm unfortunately a kind of impatient person). I'm looking around for other internship opportunities and I've been reading all the finance related texts and WSJ I can as well as the shareholder letters, 10K and other forms of companies that seem interesting and useful to learn about. The SA programs seem very competitive and helpful, and I'm worried that I'm still behind the curve if I don't get one going into sophomore year, but at the same time I don't want to apply if it could somehow negatively impact me later.

Essentially, should I apply to the GS SA 2019 program?
Basically if any of you more experienced users have any perspective or advice or criticism to give about this situation, I would really appreciate it.