When/How to update my Resume for 2021 SA cycle?

I'm a sophomore with a position lined up over 2020 summer. All this chat about 2021 SA has me very confused... When and how should I update my resume to include this position, my GPA etc, for applying to the 2021 openings?

I was always under the impression it was douchey to say your an incoming X on LinkedIn let alone your resume.

Most Helpful

I'm a student so I'm also interested in hearing responses. Personally for our sake, I would wait for an analyst or above that screens resume to offer advice. My own opinion is that the LinkedIn thing is douchey because LinkedIn is your social brand projected to an entire network of people that aren't necessarily interviewing you for a position. You are literally just bragging. Compared to other students that list every small detail of their lives on their LinkedIn, I keep my LinkedIn very clean and have never had an issue (I still get plenty of interviews.... based on, you know, resume drops and networking).

On the other hand, because sophomores interested in investment banking are being pushed to recruit for Summer 2021 before beginning their sophomore internship, it makes a lot of sense to include it on your resume. Depending on what the internship is, it could improve your candidacy. (Imagine an extreme case where your freshman internship was at a Frozen Yogurt shop or as a social media intern, but your sophomore internship is at a boutique investment bank or private equity firm. The same logic, but with a lesser impact, can be extended to any relevant sophomore internship.) Because you haven't done anything yet, I'd imagine the best approach is to have no bullets or just one bullet descriptive of the firm/your position.