Work for BlackRock for $400/week or small company for $600/week?

Through my school, I got offered a 6 month internship with BlackRock in their Wilmington, Delaware office. The job title is "Data Services and Pricing". They only pay $400/week (possible overtime, but not that much). Also, I heard I don't learn as much there as a I do at some of these smaller companies, For instance, I could work for a small business Asset Management company for $600/week. But, having BlackRock's name on my resume is more prestigious. What do you guys suggest? BlackRock or a smaller firm, which I feel like I would learn more from (not to mention be paid more). I'm currently a college sophomore.

Are you serious???You will take just $200 less per month,but you will probably gain more experience which will help you land a much better full-time offer.I generally believe that money when you are still gaining experience is irrelevant. Btw,what is more important than the firm you work for is the specific positions.So I would base my choice on which position is closer to what I want to do in the future.

Good point rmahal. And I would definitely learn, including software like Aladdin and Bloomberg. BLK also said that I could work on other projects that seem interesting to me (that aren't in my job description). I think the only discrepancy is the money. I mean, I was shocked when BLK only offered $400/week, and I am trying to pay for college. I'll see what others have to say.

Hmmm... co-op? theres alot of good jobs that pop up in B round, dont underestimate. Your obviously interested in investments, weigh the risk vs possible reward here. advice, talk to people who have been through the program already if you can find them, or just someone who has done all three co-ops. if you dont go to drexel then that may not make sense to you...just disregard. PM me for more info.

almost_there: