4 Months in a F500 Consulting Firm, But I Need to Move For Personal Reasons. What do I do?

Hey everyone, I'm wondering what's the protocol I should follow about changing jobs and/or moving after recently joining a new company.

I graduated from a good midwestern school a year ago, and moved back to my east coast home city because my college GF was also moving there. My first job out of school wasn't great, and it took me many months to find a new one. I started at my new company in April, and it's a great job at a well known, highly respected consulting firm. Problem is, I need to move. The long term relationship ended very sadly/badly, and I just can't live in this city any more. I really need a change of scenery, and I have a ton of friends and family in a city near where I went to school. I'd like to move there.

I am planning on talking to my career development counselor about this in October, which will be 6+ months after my start date and right after the busiest period of the year for us ends. How do I approach this? So far, I like the work and the company, and I'd like to stay in the same role/similar role (corporate finance). Several people on my team work remotely already; do you think moving for "personal reasons" and explaining why is a valid reason? I could easily do my job at the same level in a different city, and like I said, several people on my team already do it, although they probably had stronger reasons than "I'm miserable in this city." I believe the company requires internal transfers to new roles to stay in their original role for 12 months minimum; do you think the company/my bosses would be open to me working remotely in the new city for another 5-6 months, and then seeing if I should stay in my role or internally transfer? I'm already doing good work, and I'm confident my bosses do/will think highly of me.