1st Year FLDP @ F100 wants to pursue IB

Hello All

Background: I graduated from a non-target in 2016 (3.4 GPA, club leaderships, 3 non-relevant financial analyst internships) and did 1 year of FP&A at a small manufacturing firm. I eventually networked my way into a top F100 FLDP program last year for class of 2017-2019. I am currently finishing up my second rotation in FP&A (previous rotation in Audit) and I am set to graduate from the program in August 2019.

I honestly hate Corporate Finance and want to move to IB. I initially transferred from a local firm to F100 only because the brand name and salary (~+25K) was too good to pass and as a non-target, I thought, the brand would look amazing on my resume. I recently spoke with a few of my friends who went to semi-targets and learned about banking. I learned more about banking by reaching out to random analyst at BBs and MMs as well to those too who have transitioned from IB to PE. I am highly interested and was wondering if any of you can guide me on how I can transition from my current state to IB either via quitting the program or after finishing the program.

I am working 45-50 hrs per week but put in 70-75 during month/quarter end. I have 2 side hustles so rakes in 6K after tax on monthly basis. I was also promoted based on performance 3 months into the program. (if that matters)

I am absolutely fine starting at the bottom as a first-year analyst. I also cannot afford to do an MBA or MS (personal reasons). I have also looked into Corp Dev roles at my firm but neither the transition is possible (only hire BB Bankers) nor am I interested. I like the transactional nature of banking and see myself in banking for the long term. I think I need to start networking from now for Analyst class starting in Summer 2019 since the recruiting will start late summer.

Any advice would be super helpful. Thanks

Honestly your best bet will be an MBA or reaching out to boutiques that may take a chance on you.