Houston 2022 Bank Ranking

Does anyone have any input on banks in Houston at the moment? I am currently a sophomore who has a couple of offers lined up so trying to get some more input about the industry landscape. Thanks in advance. 

There were some threads on this a few weeks ago. Search for them

I’d take EVR or Citi if you are looking to maximize reps and don’t care about WLB. You’ll get paid more at evercore, but they’ll work you to a pulp.

BofA and MS are less sweaty but still solid shops.

CS used to be elite but they haven’t been as strong recently.

Probably would take MS unless you are down for a sweatier experience.

Most Helpful

I would eliminate BofA first. It has a okay culture, okay deal flow, okay pay.

Then I would eliminate CS. Declining deal flow (above BofA but used to be much better - so the downward trend isn’t good), high turnover amongst juniors and seniors, and bad pay. 

then I would eliminate MS - good deal flow, whale hunter, average pay. 

It should come down to Citi and Evercore. Citi is really strong and has a lot of deal flow, is extremely sweaty and has below average pay. But has really good exits and like I said awesome deal flow. Evercore has great pay (one of the best along with Jefferies) but extremely sweaty and probably the highest junior turnover amongst the shops in Houston (citi is no less, tho). Evercore’s deal flow’s solid but not what it was 2-3 years ago. i think you’ll have to comprise on either pay or relative deal flow between citi and Evercore but they are the best options from the ones you listed. 

TL;DR: 

Pay: Evercore, MS=BofA=CS, Citi

deal flow: Citi > MS = EVR > CS > BofA

Exits: Citi = EVR > CS = MS > BofA

WLB: BofA > MS > CS > Citi > EVR

let me know if you have questions. 

Not quite on topic because I find arbitrary WSO rankings silly, but how do people feel about culture/WLB at various important players.