When should Freshman(CO 2026) start applying for 2024 internships? Are they only for diversity or open to all?

I am a freshman at a non-target, but competitive academic LAC. Think Trinity, Union, Skidmore, Bates, and Denison-level academics. The career office says we have about 10 hires a year in IB for reference. I know I need to network to get interviews in general, being that I do not go to a strict target. I have a consulting/data analytics internship for a boutique consulting firm in the spring, a PWM internship in the summer, and 3.9 GPA as an ECON  major. 

A-Is doing the PWM and consulting stuff good to make me competitive?

B-When should I start applying to these 2024 internships? Keep in mind I would not qualify for any diversity.

Just trying to understand how I should go about this.

Thanks.

Most Helpful

I’m an intern so I only know so much.

But you’re in a good spot, I went to a non-target also, just keep your grades up while you are doing your spring internship.

Network your butt off, it’s never too early to start developing relationships with alumni from your school or anyone you can find a unique connection with.

It would be pretty hard to land an internship at a big bank your sophomore summer without networking pretty hard (but it can be done).

Either way best thing you can do is keep climbing the ladder so you can secure an internship at a BB or too Boutique going into your senior year. Hope this helps.