2021 Full-time IB analyst positions

Hey everyone,

This is my first time ever starting a thread, but I was wondering if anyone has heard of full-time processes going on right now? I realize this is obviously very late, but I figured with a lot of analysts walking away because of work-life balance/buy-side opportunities, as well as deal flow being very active, that a few banks were looking to increase analyst class sizes.

I would appreciate any insight people currently working in banking have. Thanks in advance!

I'm a final-semester senior at a non-target school and just received a full-time IB offer from a BB a few weeks ago. Deal flow is definitely picking up and it sounds like banks are looking for analysts to help carry the weight. (I'm starting early June, which is just 2 weeks after my graduation, if that's any indication of how quickly they need people.) 

Most Helpful

Thank you! I networked a ton over the past two years so it feels incredibly rewarding. 

A year ago (second semester of junior year) I cold emailed a VP at the bank who was in my frat but different school. He was kind enough to hop on the phone for an informational interview and we kept in touch over the past year. I asked him to introduce me to the juniors (analysts/associates) on his team and eventually spoke with ~3 people last summer. 

Fast forward to a few weeks ago, he reached out asking if I had an interest in interviewing for an analyst role. The process took about two weeks and I received the formal offer soon after. I had four interviews with senior people, one of which was technical.

My advice is to continue networking and applying, especially for firms not perceived as "sexy" on WSO. I had already accepted another full-time offer at a lower-tier local bank when the VP reached out to me (and was happy to renege), so don't pass up any opportunity you can get even if it's not what you want to do or where you wanna be.