JP Morgan Healthcare Conference - 2013

Fellow monkeys,

I am respectfully seeking a little information on the JP Morgan Healthcare Conference coming up in January in San Francisco. First, as bit of background on me, I am currently an off-cycle intern at a boutique investment bank in their healthcare group. I am targeting any lateral hiring that may occur in the next few months at top ~30 type investment banks. I am hoping that I can take advantage of the gathering of healthcare bankers in the city to do a little networking. It is a short enough trip for me to make from Los Angeles.

Have any of you ever attended? Any thoughts you can share? I was thinking:

I have been reaching out to healthcare bankers to network over the past few months. For those contacts where I have gained a little traction, I plan on reaching out to them again to see if they can meet for coffee/lunch/whatever, although I hear the bankers book as many back-to-back meetings with execs as possible. I'm wondering if they will have any time to spare, but I think it's worth trying either way.

I understand I can't actually get into the JPM conference because I don't work there, but there are various other conferences and networking events around the city that week. Does anyone have a suggestion for other conferences/events in the city that would be worth attending/likely to have some investment bankers in attendance?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Best Response

virtually every bank there will have a cocktail party with a number of reps there.

Reg getting coffee and stuff, it'll be tough. The bankers will be fighting for time with various PE/VC fund MD's and hot company CEO's.

I'm on the buy side so I'm not sure how to best advise you to get in front of them. But I would start e-mailing the ASAP! We're all filling up our calendars before Christmas.