Trafigura Graduate program, 2016

Hi everyone,
I am currently pursuing my MBA (Majors : Trade & Finance, Minors: Operations) at Indian Institute of Foreign Trade. I wish to work as a trader in physical commodities, particularly metals and minerals. I am a Mining Engineer, having worked for 2 years at Coal India Limited, as an Assistant Manager (Mining).
My question is : What are my chances of getting an interview at Trafigura, for their Graduate program, if I apply through their online portal? And, should I be actually applying for it, or is the grass just greener??

Best Response

Hopefully your chances are good, ishugarg. Which office did you apply to? Which focus area did you pick?

I am in the same boat as far as length of experience. Have a graduate degree and two years of project finance work experience in the natural resource and infrastructure sector for a frontier market-focused US boutique (one as senior analyst one as associate).

1. Has anyone else applied this year?
  2. Did you take a psychometric test during your interview?
  3. Whats the background of people that get it? Directly out of school or with non-trading work experience?
  4. Have you heard yes/no on phone screenings or in person interviews this year?

It seems most people that posted on WSO in 2012 and 2013 started asking about the phone screenings around the beginning of September, the first rounds toward the end of it, and the final round beginning of October (if someone else knows better, please correct me).

The deadline for submission of completed application to the Trafigura Graduate program is September 27, 2015. So, the process has just begun. I believe its a 2-round interview process here. No idea about the psychometric test or telephonic interview process. I was of the opinion that they shortlist candidates based on their profile and then, call them for an interview.