Top 5 Restructuring Consulting Firms 2020 (my opinion)

I work in the industry and want to provide my perspective to those that care. This is related to restructuring consulting in the USA. List is alphabetical and not in any order of prestige. Focus is primarily RX (not all the other random ass services they provide). And is RX consulting not RX banking focused.

1. AlixPartners
  2. Alverez & Marsal
  3. Berkeley Research Group
  4. Conway MaKenzie
  5. FTI Consulting

There are tons of other great firms but I see these folks on the largest pitches consistently. Your thoughts?

any chance you could articulate which of these firms specialize in which industries and/or debtor/creditor side work? seems this site could use more info on this industry altogether given the macro climate

Most Helpful

Absolutely. Not all engagements are public so I am speaking generally here. And of course there are exceptions. No way I could be completely comprehensive but anyone should call me out if there is something clearly erroneous (i dont think there is). These 5 firms are known for their debtor side work.

1. Alix / A&M are huge. They have a ton of consultants and by that nature span across a lot of industries.
  2. Alix is very well known in Industrial and Automotive. They also tend to be more operational, generally
  3. Conway is a little more middle market generally but a heavy weight in Automotive. As a whole firm, they are probably the smallest of the bunch and only really do corporate finance work.
  4. BRG is the gold standard for retail which is a convenient place to be during the retail Apocalypse. Also see them quite a bit on larger PE sponsored deals.
  5. FTI seems to be heavier on the creditor side but still has a presence in debtor side work
  6. A&M shows up quite a bit on creditor side as well but still very competitive in debtor side