What are some of the cushier roles in Corporate ($125-150K/year and ~45 hours/week average)?

what types of roles are good/what should you shoot for if you are being honest with yourself and really only care for a middle-class lifestyle and value time >> money?

I had a role at a regional bank with a base of $125k (which was raised to $135k, but then I left) +10% bonus (which was raised to 15%) and I was working like 35hrs a week. I really didn't like it though. Too many people were phoning it in.

I work in tech now (make a lot more money) but I also work a lot more. Just had the first 4 week busy stint at 75/hr weeks, and just entered the next busy stint (4 more 75hr weeks). After this though should come back down to 50ish.

[quote="PiratesSayARRR"]

I work in tech now (make a lot more money) but I also work a lot more. Just had the first 4 week busy stint at 75/hr weeks, and just entered the next busy stint (4 more 75hr weeks). After this though should come back down to 50ish.

What tech stuff do you actually do PiratesSayARRR if you don't mind me asking?

If you want to make a career in corporate, I think the sweet spot to hit is the Director level, which is usually a mid-manager level. Basically the structure is Analyst > Manager > Director > VP > SVP > Exec, with varying levels between like Sr. Analyst, Sr. Manager, etc. to add gradation and promotion levels.

At the Director level, it is more likely to have the salary range you're looking for and swing a 45ish hour week, no problem.

It's going to vary a lot. From what I've seen, let's say you started at a corporate rotational program for 2-3 years. Then you fall permanently in a manager position for a good year or two, and if lucky can make it to director after a few years. Most directors are going to be at least 30 years old. On the other extreme, I know people who are analysts well into their 40s.

Funniest