Dec 02, 2022

2023 SA PIMCO Alt Credit & Priv Strategies

Hi all! I unexpectedly got a first-round hirevue invite for this position for next summer due within like two days.

Just wondering what the role entails and the comp/hours/culture/exit opps/etc... I'm caught off guard because I didn't really put much thought into this position while recruiting for IB in the past two months or so. I did get an offer recently for an IB position that pays well but would be long, hard hours, so I'm sort of open to this opportunity. Another natural thing to add is that most of my interview preparation has been centered around IB, so I do have a technical base knowledge for finance, but it has been a while since I studied these things. I also follow the markets decently, but I feel wholly unprepared for this interview process.

I did some searching around the forum and it seems to be a very well-respected and firmly decent position. Just wondering if anybody else is in the same shoes as myself and knows about this division of PIMCO in general. Thanks!

Sry to hear that man. Do you happen to have any info about the group and how competitive the process is?

When did you also submit the Hirevue btw? I submitted it yesterday and just waiting fora response.

Did the superday last year - it's faded from my memory but I can try to help.

The team's thesis is basically to invest in anything and everything. It could be oil tankers during a contango event, or something like forestry. (what I was told).

During interviews, they will want to know if you understand how a non-correlated portfolio works and whether you're creative/analytical enough to handle diverse asset classes from a birds-eye view.

Regarding competitiveness, my entire superday round was rejected (yes, everyone). I don't know what their criteria for a good candidate is. It's possible that it could be very "fit-based" and they're willing to wait for the perfect person.