Rising Junior, 3.25 GPA at Semi-Target w/ no significant WE interested in Corp Finance. Need some major guidance and direction!!

Hello all,

I am currently a rising junior at a semi-target as an accounting major. I completed my sophomore year with a 3.25 GPA increasing from a dismal 3.0 GPA from my freshman year (although the point increase is not very impressive). As far as my career goals/interests go I would like to see myself getting an internship as a finance intern at a F500 company (GE or Boeing ideally) or at a Big 4 in their corporate finance division (Transaction Services or Valuation) and then hopefully working at either place full time.

There are a few problems with my career path though. Firstly I have no major finance work experience. The only remote business related experience I have had was as a corporate relations/development intern at a non-profit firm and that was the summer prior to my freshman year in college. This year I started to heavily recruit using our online recruitment system and some local places (literally applying daily and consistently) but with no luck I didn’t receive any interviews and I also got the same response from the HR people “Sorry we are only look for juniors. Try again next year”. With this I couldn’t find ANYTHING for this summer and so I spent this summer traveling and I don’t know how this will fare when recruiters see that I haven’t done anything finance related this summer. This was a little sample of my terrible luck.