$100MM+ PnL - How to negotiate year-end comp

I’m looking for feedback from experienced HF professionals on how to manage my year-end comp discussion with my PM. This is my first year as a “senior analyst” running my own coverage, having spent the prior 2.5 years at this fund as a junior/supporting analyst after joining from PE. My coverage generated over $100MM of PnL for the fund with positive PnL from long book and shorts overall - on an absolute and risk-adjusted basis, my coverage outperformed the overall fund. I started the year with essentially no risk on, and my coverage has grown to be quite meaningful. It’s a $5-10BN AUM long-short multi-strategy fund, if it matters, and the firm is up low-to-mid teens YTD across the vehicles (one investment team, with multiple funds and a very broad mandate).

My PM asked me to think about what I’d like to get paid this year ahead of our comp discussion. My question is, how should I frame my total comp expectations and best prepare for this meeting? What is a fair “book-end” to argue for? Every employee at the firm is paid on a discretionary and non-formulaic basis (mostly cash, but some invested deferral).

Thanks all in advance.

Had a very similar situation and actually just left the firm after being so disappointed with how I was comp’d last year. (I wrote the SM promised land thread and shared my comp anecdotes in a comment there).

All I can say is don’t expect $5-10 haha. $2-3 if you’re lucky. I wrote about it in the thread and don’t want to go look for it, but think about what paying you $5-10 means: CIO asking himself “should I really pay this person 25-50% of the economics that accrue to the firm that are attributable to his coverage? Yeah, no. Let’s try 10%-20%. This is my firm not his. And how much of the $100 is alpha? Oh, 40%? Why should I pay him to pick a factor and ride the beta of said factor?”. You’ll probably be paid a L-MSD % of alpha PnL.