Is it good idea to Ask MD (or VP) for Reference letter - SA2024

Hi, I'm currently an off-cycle intern in BB IB. I know it's a bit late, but I've submitted the application for SA2024 (asia and london) and now I received the link for video interview (like hirevue). As being an intern in the same bank that I've applied for, I'm thinking asking MD for a ref letter. But the thing is, I barely talked with him, and we're from same uni where he seems he doesn't want to let other know or isn't proud of our uni. Also, I don't think my reference check would'nt be that good (it was my first intern and I was immature a bit). At the same time, It can be my opportunity as well- just confused how to reach out to him and if there's no metter with it. Also, I usually talked with VP - would it be better to ask VP for ref letter? Thanks!

Most Helpful

No one reads or cares about reference letters. Even down the line in a background check when you need people to be your "reference" it is always very simply done through HR and a matter of confirming you worked there.

If you are at a BB you should be able to look up people in the team you are applying to. Get coffee or virtual coffee with them and talk about their team. Work your way up to talking to that group's seniors through them. They should be the ones referring you, not your current MD or VP. And it's not really an official "referral" but more that if they like you they will keep an eye out for your resume.