MSF Class of 2019

Every year I do a post like this on about this date for students seeking admission. Most MSF/MMS program start their application cycle around this time so it is usually helpful. Prior years Q&A are listed below.

https://www.wallstreetoasis.com/forums/msf-class-…

Ground Rules:

1) I will only answer questions from students.
2) I will answer only once. If someone has additional questions, PM me.
3) Visit my site - Masters in Finance HQ

Me - I am a 2010 graduate from top MSF program. Over a decade of finance industry experience. Advised and helped students get into nearly every MSF program. I speak with over a dozen of the main MSF program adcoms and routinely write on the specialized masters degree. I've been quoted in the NACE Journal on the subject of the MSF degree.

Note

2017 MSFHQ Masters in Finance Ranking - In Process

Hi TNA, thanks for doing this. Hoping to get your thoughts on my profile.

Undergraduate: BS Finance from Big Ten school 3.92 GPA (currently a senior)

GMAT: Have not taken yet, but expect to get 700-720

Work Experience: Internship at a small financial advisor, internship and full-time offer in S&T at BAML, will be a Military Intelligence officer in the Army Reserve while working full-time (did ROTC throughout college), will be volunteering for around 4-5 months after graduation and before starting full-time

Additional Notes: Should be able to get some good letters of recommendation from my finance professors. Additionally, I always done well in math and I'm planning on teaching myself some basic coding (which I think is a weak spot for me).

Target Schools: MIT, Princeton, Columbia, LSE

How competitive do you think I'd be for these schools and what weak spots do you see in my profile?

Best Response

My pleasure to help.

1) Great GPA and assuming your GMAT is also strong, you'll be a great candidate anywhere.